Elephant Earrings

I thought I would show the process of how I make the tiny elephant earrings.

First I doodle what I would like make and then draw it in illustrator an print out the design to the right size. I then cut out the design and stick it to the silver using spray mount.

wpid-20150724_102939.jpgI then saw out each elephant with 2/0 saw blades or a blade if I’m lucky! I then use a small pointy tool to create the eye with a gentle tap with the hammer.

image

Next I gave the elephants a rub down with emery paper. I placed them on a doming block to give them a slightly curved shape.

The little elephants are now ready to be made into earrings. With a small flame a little bit of solder an flux I added the backing posts.

image

The earrings then went for a tumble in the barrelling machine and then had a quick polish on the polishing mop to give them some extra shine! (Please excuse the bad photos)

image

About lovelydeer

My name is Gemma Phillips and I am a designer and illustrator of a range of home ware called Lovely Deer. https://lovelydeer.wordpress.com/ http://www.facebook.com/lovely.deer.5?fref=ts
This entry was posted in Blogs, Handmade, Illustration, Jewellery, Products, Workshop and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

