Pinny – Sewing session (tutorial)

Step by step guide on how to make a Pinny

  1. Find a fabric you love!
  2. Cut your Pinny Fabric – 60cms x 50cm
  3. imageCut your Pinny Pocket Fabric – 60cms x 20cm
  4. imageCut your Waistband Fabric – 50cms x 11cms
  5. Place the Pocket fabric over the Pinny fabric, Hem the top of the fabric to give a nice finish (1 cm hem.) Don’t forget to back stitch at the start and end of the fabric.
  6. Sew both fabrics together starting at the bottom of the pinny with a 1 cm hem (the not nice hemmed end). It maybe easier to iron the overlap before sewing.
  7. imageStitch the pockets, I used a fun zig zag option on the machine, I had two pockets so measured in 20cms from both sides and stitched from the top of the pocket to the bottom of the pinny (remember reserve stitch, mainly because I have never done this before in my life as I am not great at sewing.)
  8. imageGathering the skirt – Set your machine stitch length to a long stitch. Without back stitching at the start or the finish sew across the top of the apron skirt. Repeat this just inside the first row of stitching.
  9. Take the bottom thread stitching and holding the apron skirt pull into a gather. Do this on both sides of the apron skirt until the apron fits the width of the waistband around 50cms.
  10. I used ribbon for the ties with a width on roughly 2cms and stitched the ribbon around 1 inch into the fabric and an 1 inch ½ from the top of the pinny on both sides
  11. Place a 1cm hem on the waistband fabric and place equally around the top of the pinny and stitch.
  12. We are nearly finished! Now I just turned the sides over by a 1cm and ironed the hem flat and stitched.

FINISHED!!!
image

image
image

Now I am not saying I made the best looking pinny in town, but I gave in a good try and I was quite impressed with the outcome as a non sewer. I would have preferred to glue to all together but I think it worked well.

It took me 3 hours and if you fancy making a pinny give it a go I will be wearing this to by next craft fair. If you need any help while making let me know or if you have any helpful hints please share 🙂

About lovelydeer

My name is Gemma Phillips and I am a designer and illustrator of a range of home ware called Lovely Deer. https://lovelydeer.wordpress.com/ http://www.facebook.com/lovely.deer.5?fref=ts
This entry was posted in Handmade, Workshop and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pinny – Sewing session (tutorial)

  1. wishingchair says:

    I love the fabric you chose, beautiful!

Leave a Reply

