Epic Jewellery Fail

I thought I would share my ring setting fail with you. This was my third ring stone setting, I went with a gorgeous pink stone which I pick up from my travels in Sri Lanka.

I spent hours making this ring to fail at the end, it did provide a great life lesson through NEVER HEAT UP THE STONE! I’m sure you all know this but my brain was not thinking at the time! Unfortunately the stone cracked and if now falling apart so my only hope is to find another stone exactly the same size, wish me luck!

I have had a lot of fails while making jewellery but this was so close to the finish line it makes it an epic fail!

See the photos of my silver ring setting journey below:

20140307_101857 20140307_104217 20140307_104925 20140314_110128 20140314_110647 20140314_114552 20140328_111412 20140411_133312 20140411_133325

About lovelydeer

My name is Gemma Phillips and I am a designer and illustrator of a range of home ware called Lovely Deer. https://lovelydeer.wordpress.com/ http://www.facebook.com/lovely.deer.5?fref=ts
This entry was posted in Handmade, Workshop and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Epic Jewellery Fail

  1. cafy59 says:

    What a shame that the stone shattered on you. The finished article in the last picture is still beautiful though. If the remaining stone is secure, then you’ve got the added bonus of it being unique!

  2. Robyn says:

    The ring did turn out beautifully, though…other than the cracked stone. If you can’t find another of the exact size you could try filling the setting with a colored resin. Or…maybe use resin to hold the remaining bit of stone in.

  3. Beautiful stone. I hope you find another one. Good luck:)

  4. Winter Owls says:

    Such a sad ending….

  5. What an absolutely heart breaking end to such a beautiful creation. The stone and ring are wonderful. I’m so sorry it cracked. I know how disappointing it is when a project takes a tragic turn.

  6. Arty-Kat says:

    I’m so sad for you! I was just heartbroken to see the end result. However, a hard, hard lesson learned. Beautiful silver ring, btw!

  7. rockmelon says:

    such an interesting process, its in my bucket list!

  8. Oh my! I can just imagine your disappointment. Despite the “epic fail” your work is beautiful.

  9. Don’t worry too much about failures. They will happen but less and less as you do more. The good thing is that Pink “ice” or pink CZ comes in calibrated stone sizes and they are not very expensive. Cubic zirconia can take moderate heat so if you were to try it again, use a softer flame, slowly heat it up until the solder flows and let it slowly cool. Do not quench. They may be some more reliable methods of setting that you may want to explore.
    One method to set stones without investing in various setting burs would be to make the bezel as precise as possible around the stone. It looks like you have that skill down. Make a second marquise shaped piece that slides inside the bezel lower then the outside one. About 2mm. This will become the seat of the stone. Since silver is so malleable you can move the metal to secure the stone. Lightly hammering or chasing the bezel metal over the girdle of the stone will secure it. The seat should be deeper then what you probably may think it should be. Because after pushing the metal around you will need to file out the tool marks and sand and polish.
    Nice job.
    Another suggestion on your project: it looks like you made the band and soldered it together. That seam is where you should have soldered in the head (bezel). This will eliminate a solder seam in the shank.
    On my blog I have not talked about failures. I think I will cover a few of those stories and their triumphant out comes. They are often better then the original idea.

  10. it was really pretty, shame, but you learn more by getting things wrong (and understandind why) than by getting them right.
    As people, as well as craftspeople, we just have to try again and fail better next time.

  11. sophiekirk77 says:

    I’m sure the next one will look even better

  12. Pingback: Research: Lovely Deer | Viscom

Leave a Reply

