Gold Plated Necklace

I was so fascinated with the gold plating machine, I had to use it!! I do love learning new techniques and playing with new toys! As I seem to only be creating rings and bangles at the moment I thought it was time to make another necklace. I cut 5 silver discs, hammered in textured lines, cleaned and polished each disc, and then the fun begins! The kit is a low voltage electricity power source, you clip the crocodile style on to the piece which sends a current through the metal, you then dip the brush in the solution and paint on the gold plating in layers. Now the thing to be aware is gold plating does rub off, so I thought about this during  the design process and I just wanted a slight gold finish to sit in the groves. I didn’t really want to disguise the silver for what it is and I feel the way the gold will wear in use will make the design even more beautiful and the piece will continuously evolve.

Now for Sale on Etsy, I hope you enjoying your bank holibobs 🙂

20130817_115047 20130817_115101 20130817_115120  20130817_115849

About lovelydeer

My name is Gemma Phillips and I am a designer and illustrator of a range of home ware called Lovely Deer. https://lovelydeer.wordpress.com/ http://www.facebook.com/lovely.deer.5?fref=ts
This entry was posted in Blogs, Handmade, Jewellery, Products and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Gold Plated Necklace

  1. prewitt1970 says:

    Thats quite lovely. Nice job

  2. amanda2600 says:

    hello!
    My blog “cutie in the sun” has just been nominated for a Liebster Award.
    This recognises bloggers for their work but the catch is… they MUST have less than 200 followers.
    I came across your blog and really enjoyed what I’ve seen and read.
    I’d like to nominate you for one!
    Head over to my blog to see what to do next 🙂
    http://amanda2600.wordpress.com/2013/09/01/the-liebster-award/

Leave a Reply

