Handmade Stone Set Ring

This week I made my first stone setting ring!! I was very excited about making a ring with a sparkly stone, now this was not an easy ring for me to make and for a brief period I named it the devil ring!

It began well and I like the precision needed to produce a simple stone setting ring, as some jewelers spend their whole career just setting stones and it’s not an easy feet. Obviously for my first stone setting I used a relative easy method with a few helpful tools. I picked a beautiful 4mm topaz stone and began by forming a silver ring, cutting the ring to sit the tube between the two sides. I used 4mm tubing and made sure the tubing sat perfectly against the ring, this took lots of time sanding to make a flawless fit. It was going well and I soldered the tubing to the ring, it look perfect BUT the ring was too small for my middle finger :). So I thought it would be great to stretch the ring a little on the ring stretcher… this was a bad idea, I now had oval shaped tubing which did fit my finger but not the stone. I unsoldered the ring reshaped the tube and began again. But I got there in the end and here is my first stone setting ring below!!

20130817_114722It isn’t perfect and I see the many ways this ring could be improved, but it is still beautiful and it fits my finger! It was a struggle and it really helps me understand the patience and passion taken to create one of a kind handmade items. I now have a new admiration for stone setters and the beauty of the actual setting.

20130817_11490320130817_11465120130817_114928

About lovelydeer

My name is Gemma Phillips and I am a designer and illustrator of a range of home ware called Lovely Deer. https://lovelydeer.wordpress.com/ http://www.facebook.com/lovely.deer.5?fref=ts
Image | This entry was posted in Blogs, Handmade, Jewellery and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Handmade Stone Set Ring

  1. Kat says:

    I think the ring looks very beautiful! Good luck and patience for next projects!:)

  2. Dianne says:

    You did very well for a first attempt. I can’t wait to see your next project.

  3. Robyn says:

    Great job! It’s beautiful. I can’t believe you actually unsoldered it…that’s dedication to the project!

  4. littlekoo says:

    Wow, that sounds like it was quite difficult to make but the end product is beautiful and unique. Must be great to be able to wear it!

  5. Hello!
    My blog “Irene Design” has just been nominated for a Liebster Award.
    This recognises bloggers for their work but the catch is… they MUST have less than 200 followers.
    I came across your blog and really enjoyed what I’ve seen and read.
    I’d like to nominate you for one!
    Head over to my blog to see what to do next 🙂
    http://irenedesign2011.wordpress.com/2013/08/23/the-liebster-award/
    Irene

  6. Evelyn Watts says:

    I haven’t attemped to make a tube setting yet. Thanks for tips! I’m still trying to master the basic bezel setting. Patience is definitely required 🙂

Leave a Reply

