Jewellers DIY Table – Step by Step Guide

I’ve been really enjoying making jewellery and I’m passionate about continuing my hobby, so I have slowly started buying bits and bobs online and at car boot sales. I brought an amazing Dremel tool with brand new accessories for only £15 at the car boot last week and this was definitely the bargain of my life haha.

Anyway getting back on track, I was given an old pub table for free! Which was very handy and I decided this would become my jewellers table, as they are expensive to buy and I love a challenge. See my step by step guide /progress below

Step one – Find a suitable table – my table dimensions were – 122cm x 68cm and don’t forget to clean it! Mine had a few surprises, mainly dead spiders it wasn’t pretty!!

Step two – Create a semi-circle, I nailed a small baton of wood to my table to draw the correct size circle the dimensions I used were 54cm x 15cm. I used a jigsaw and cut the semi-circle out the best I could with a little help from my handy dad.

20130629_131639 20130629_131834

Step three – I dismantle the table and used an electric sander to take off the nasty dark varnish and give the table a modern / country look.

20130629_161043 20130629_161036

Step four – I waxed the table as I knew paint wouldn’t last 5 minutes.

Step five – I coated the table legs in two coats of white primer and finished them with 2 coats of cream gloss for protection. I tried to create a high quality finish as I wanted the table to look nice as I do have to look at it every day.

20130629_155425 20130701_233600

Step six – I then added a couple of wooden batons to give the table a little more height and make it a lot more sturdy, as making jewellery on a wobbly table would be no fun!

20130726_19590420130718_220817

Step seven – I screwed the table back together and painted the wooden batons. Next I added a mini clamp to the left side and I will eventually be adding a large clamp for the right hand side.

20130726_19585220130726_195857Step eight – I added an old shelf which lucky fitted the length of the table perfectly. I thought it was important to add a shelf to give storage and I will drill a few holes to hang my files through. I painted the shelf with primer and gloss so it matched the table legs as I do like things to match!

20130729_221119The table is not yet finished I have just ordered an anvil and peg to attach to the middle of my semi-circle,  it is definitely a work in progress. I will update you when all my gadgets are set up. If you have any questions I would be happy to help and would love any suggestions to improve the table 🙂

About lovelydeer

My name is Gemma Phillips and I am a designer and illustrator of a range of home ware called Lovely Deer. https://lovelydeer.wordpress.com/ http://www.facebook.com/lovely.deer.5?fref=ts
This entry was posted in Blogs, Handmade, Jewellery and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Jewellers DIY Table – Step by Step Guide

  1. cjmoss says:

    It looks really lovely! I’m definitely dreaming of updating my workspace and I love the cutout idea!

  2. This is fantastic! I’m off to Ikea tomorrow to pick up something not nearly as lovely (love the white and the legs of your desk), but will work for now nonetheless. Looks like you have a nice little space, as well 🙂

    • lovelydeer says:

      Thanks, I hope you don’t get too carried away in ikea like I do! Haha! Yes we just moved house so I get the conservatory its a great size to work in 🙂

      • I have a list, but we always manage to end up with more than we really need by the time we leave (think my husband is just as bad as I am!) My dream is to have a little studio in a conservatory one day. Until now, our little flat will have to do! Enjoy yours 🙂

  3. Oyin says:

    Wow I can see this table turning out great as soon as I saw the white…. Can’t wait to see the finished work

  4. Kat says:

    This looks really great! Good work!
    I have been thinking about making or getting a special desk for my jewelry too, and your project is a very good inspiration for me! 🙂

  5. lovelydeer says:

    Thanks guys I will show you photos when its all finished, hopefully soon! I know IKEA is the devil, they just have things you don’t need but really want and I always nearly faint at the checkout when I hear how much I spent haha.

  6. littlekoo says:

    Wow, what a lovely desk! Looks like you’ve done a great job with it 🙂

Leave a Reply

