Silver Bracelet

This week is all about the bracelet, it’s my husband’s parents wedding anniversary and a couple of weeks ago I reshaped his mums bracelet an as it was so thin and easy to bend, I thought a great anniversary gift would be a new bracelet. As she is religious I thought it would be nice to stamp a quote from the bible on the inside of the bracelet.

1 corinthians 13 v 4 – 8

4Love is long‐suffering and kind. Love is not jealous, it does not brag, does not get puffed up,5does not behave indecently, does not look for its own interests, does not become provoked. It does not keep account of the injury.6It does not rejoice over unrighteousness, but rejoices with the truth.7It bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things.8Love never fails

As this was my first attempt stamping I went with ‘Love never fails’ as I thought it was short, sweet and related to their anniversary.

I began trying to stamp with the 4mm D shaped wire, as I knew she preferred thin delicate jewellery, however stamping with D shaped wire was tricky enough without the challenge of using 4mm wide stamps that just fitted. After a lot of wasted wire and unclear letting, I decided to use the thicker 6mm wire, I had let the 4mm wire defeated me L. (I planned to melt down the 4mm wasted wire but I have lost it so I have no photos of my lame attempts haha.)

The 6mm wire was a dream the L O went off to a flying start the V let me down literally, but I kept on trucking. The NEVER went well but the V went wrong again I think they have something against me! The best word was fails maybe because there was no V or the fact it was the last word.

20130703_190603

I have taken the mistakes as handmade quirks and sometimes I think the imperfections and human error makes handmade personal items so meaningful and special. At least I hope my mother in law will see it that way!

I polished the outside of the bracelet and gave the inside a satin finish, as the stamping dented the D shape a lot of sanding had to be done, but I quite pleased with my first ever bracelet!

20130705_132823

Sorry about the bad pics!

About lovelydeer

My name is Gemma Phillips and I am a designer and illustrator of a range of home ware called Lovely Deer. https://lovelydeer.wordpress.com/ http://www.facebook.com/lovely.deer.5?fref=ts
This entry was posted in Jewellery and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Silver Bracelet

  1. Oyin says:

    Those are such wonderful words to use. A nice reminder to what is most important in life.
    Congratulations to your husband parents, wishing them many more anniversaries 🙂

  2. Very pretty, I’m sure she will love it.

Leave a Reply

