Shabby Chic Workshop

So this weekend I went to a Shabby Chic workshop in Portslade near Brighton, with the girls from the office. We found this great deal on Living Social, I knew in my heart not to   expect a lot with a living social deal, as we only paid £19 and the company only received 50% of that, however I was still disappointed. Firstly they were very over booked and we were crammed into a room told to paint the furniture with Chalk paint – which is pretty amazing, you don’t need to sand down your furniture or do any prep work you just paint it! This would have been great if we didn’t receive watered down paint!

My big moans were the tutors had no time for us they wanted us in and out, we painted our furniture – 1 or 2 coats, told us to sand down the edges and gave us one tin of wax for a large group not enough for me to finish my piece and the worst thing is I honestly learnt nothing 😦

On the brighter side I had a great day with the girls and went out for lunch it was lovely. When taking my table home my husband asked what I had done to the poor table, he said it looked battered and old, which made me laugh and I took as a compliment as let’s face it that is what shabby chic is!

See the before and after photos below, let me know what you think and if you have been to any amazing workshops I should try.

BeforeAfter20130521_174942

About lovelydeer

My name is Gemma Phillips and I am a designer and illustrator of a range of home ware called Lovely Deer. https://lovelydeer.wordpress.com/ http://www.facebook.com/lovely.deer.5?fref=ts
This entry was posted in Blogs and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Shabby Chic Workshop

  1. Jennifer says:

    It’s a pity the course was so unorganised, it could have been really good! Your table looks really good. Much nicer than the original.

    • lovelydeer says:

      I know hopefully they will improve with the next groups. Aw thanks its a part of a nest of tables so another 2 to go haha but I do love the chalk paint! Not sure if I should make each table a different colour, what do you think?

      • Jennifer says:

        I spose changing the colour depends on your decor and where they are going to positioned – together or apart. If they are together and will work muted neutral colours would be good, (grey, brown, black…) or you could make the others bright colours and next them as a highlight piece.

      • lovelydeer says:

        That’s true I think I will make the other 2 pastel colours maybe a green and pink would look good, I cant wait to get painting again I will update you with new pics 🙂

      • Jennifer says:

        Sounds pretty cool, have fun 🙂

  2. Emma says:

    Hi, I just stumbled across your comments on the Internet…. This is Emma who was teaching you on that day at the workshop!!! So sorry to hear your experience wasn’t a great one!! You were booked through diyshabbychic.com living social!! im under Love-house.co.uk via groupon things have indeed been updated as I don’t think we were prepared for such large numbers and interest!! I have gone solo as I too felt that it was too cramped at that location and now hold in local village halls… The chalk paint on offer is of excellent value and more demos shown from beginning to end!!! Perhaps you would like to join me on my workshop in southwick and get inspired once again!!! U know you won’t be disappointed this time!!! Check out my website http://www.love-house.co.uk and if you and your friends would like to join me please quote promotion price £19…. Which I will gladly honour for you….Emma x

Leave a Reply

