AMsterDam

Hello!! I hope everyone had an amazing bank holiday and feels refreshed with this gorgeous weather. I feel like England has been waiting for this lovely sunshine and its given everyone a great uplifted spirit :).

I went away for a long weekend with the girls to the fantastic Amsterdam and with all its winding canals, many bridges and beautiful houses, I find it has a little bit of a personality disorder matched with the bright red lights of the night.

My absolute favorite thing about this city is its houses; the tall, skinny buildings are picturesque with their varied heights. Each house is unique and a little bit crooked too, which just adds to the character. If you look carefully you can see the houses lean forward – towards you (a little unnerving) and this of course is all part of the plan! As with a skinny house you find yourself with a narrow staircase which is not great for lifting up furniture. Therefore they would use the large arm and hook stick found at the top of the house to pull up large items to the higher floors and the houses leans forward to reduce the chance of their belongings bumping into the house.

Below are a few photos and I must not forgot the tell you about the cheese it’s too died for!! The cheese shops have a sample of every cheese and it’s safe to say it’s the best cheese I have ever had and I now I am a lover of goats cheese too!

am2am3am1

About lovelydeer

My name is Gemma Phillips and I am a designer and illustrator of a range of home ware called Lovely Deer. https://lovelydeer.wordpress.com/ http://www.facebook.com/lovely.deer.5?fref=ts
This entry was posted in Blogs, Holiday and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

