Silk Printing vs Digital Printing

Once I created my designs I knew I wanted them applied on a ceramic surface and after looking into application techniques it was clear you either chose Silk printing or Digital printing. After research what was the best solution for me I thought I would share what I have learnt.

Digital Print

Pros

–          Cheaper in smaller quantities

–          No set up cost

–          No minimum

–          The transfers can be fired onto a wide variety of ceramic surfaces between temperatures of 800 and 900 degrees.

Cons

–          Colours are duller

–          Once fired a slight edge can be seen around the transfer – where the transfer has been cut, however this can be hidden by using more of the transfer sheet instead of only cutting around the design.

Silk Screen

Pros

–          Cheaper in large quantities

–          Vibrant colours

–          No outline of where the transfer was cut

–          Single colour to multi-colour ceramic decals can be produced including 4 colour process and precious metals

Cons

–          High set up costs

–          Minimum sheet run

I have decided to create my first ceramic pieces using the digital print process to see how they turn out as a sample test in black and when I need to order a large quantity I will use brighter colours with screen printing. I will show you pictures of my new designs on ceramics soon!!

If you want more information on the digital printing have a look on http://skinnylaminx.com/2008/06/10/ceramics-transfers-tutorial/  

Examples of Artists who use Digital printing Leanne Mellor (below) and Jezze Prints

teapartysets_5.jpg1474536392

Examples of Artists who use Silk Screen Printing Snowden Flood  (below) and Nimerology

albert.jpg789417530

About lovelydeer

My name is Gemma Phillips and I am a designer and illustrator of a range of home ware called Lovely Deer. https://lovelydeer.wordpress.com/ http://www.facebook.com/lovely.deer.5?fref=ts
This entry was posted in Blogs and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Silk Printing vs Digital Printing

  1. State says:

    Hello you have a nice weblog over here! Thanks for sharing this interesting information for us! If you keep up this good work I’ll visit your site again. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

