Thailand – Soap Inspiration

I have just returned from my honeymoon in Thailand and am missing the sunshine already!! One item I saw and thought I must share are these beautiful flower soaps carved by hand in Thailand. They are created from everyday bars of plain soap as these skills have been passed down through generations. The only tools used to create the soap master piece is a large knife and scalpel and the flowers are painted using the batik process.

The work is extremely intricate and the flowers also smell amazing… These are beautiful, delicate works of art, sold in wooden decorative boxes. The soap cutting technique is called the ancient art of Kae Sa Luk and originated in Chiang Rai and were sold in markets for tourists.

I think I may attempt to create a soap flower- I will let you know how it goes!

Photos found from http://binscorner.com/pages/t/thailands-beautiful-soap-flowers.html

About lovelydeer

My name is Gemma Phillips and I am a designer and illustrator of a range of home ware called Lovely Deer. https://lovelydeer.wordpress.com/ http://www.facebook.com/lovely.deer.5?fref=ts
This entry was posted in Blogs, Handmade and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thailand – Soap Inspiration

  1. Ray says:

    I found this blog very interesting and I just wanna thank you for that. I hope you keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

